How to use New Lock-style EF mount


KineRAW camera employs whole new lock-type EF mount, new lock-type EF mounting adapter, new lock-type Nikon F mounting adapter from 2014 Jan. Its fixing way is very similar to Cine PL mount: lock ring rotation, not lens rotation to make sure EF lens locked firmly and to be contacted well with pogo-pin contact inside of EF mount in any case. Compared to traditional lock way based on spring metal, the new EF mount gains much better stability; fits very well in professional way when video shots using follow-focus gear.

This type of lock-style EF mount can be regarded as Cine mount, like PL mount which is very different from the fastening way of DSLR camera. PL mount is often called as positive lock, as its name, clockwise to fasten lens with mount, while the lock-style EF mount would be called as ‘negative’ lock: counter-clockwise to fasten lens with mount. Such EF Cine mount begins to be used in high-end, professional cinema cameras.

Steps of traditional DSLR cameras to fastening EF lens:

  1. The mark of red dot on lens is aligned with red dot on mount of camera;
  2. Push lens into mount;
  3. Rotate lens clock wisely till pin on mount gets into the hole of lens.

Steps of lock-style EF mount to fastening EF lens, as following, is very different from DSLR way:

1. The mark of Red Dot on lens is aligned with Dot on Mount for EF lens; White square mark to square mark on Mount if EF-S lens. (At the same time, the locking ring on mount should be released: white line/dot to line/dot on mount. )


2. Push the lens into mount; (Note: Pin on mount should match the hole of lens)



3. Rotate Locking Ring Counter-clock-wisely (follow the arrow of lock on mount).



Releasing lens from lock-style EF mount is opposite: hold the lens; rotate locking ring clock-wisely till it stops.

Caution: Must hold the lens during releasing/fastening lens to avoid lens drop.

全新锁紧型EF卡口操作介绍

Installment_LEF_C

自2014年一月开始,Kinefinity的所有卡口不管是原生EF卡口还是转接环的EF卡口,以及Nikon F卡口,均采用锁紧的方式来紧固镜头,而非传统的单反相机卡口、基于簧片的方式。采用锁紧的方式固定镜头使得EF镜头和卡口的触点接触更良好、机械上也几乎没有框量,非常适合于视频拍摄。

为了适合视频拍摄的使用方式,需要对镜头的紧固具有更高的要求,几乎不能有框量,这样才能安全的使用跟焦器。锁紧型卡口,比如PL卡口(一般称为正相锁紧,顺时针)就是典型的适合于电影机使用的卡口。而锁紧型EF卡口,才能让大量性价比高的单反相机镜头真正实用在视频拍摄中, 这种与PL卡口极为相似的锁紧方式,现在已经被高端、专业的数字电影机广泛采用。


传统的单反相机EF卡口上固定EF镜头,方式为:

  1. 镜头后口上的红点对准卡口上红点;
  2. 镜头后口入卡口;
  3. 手拧镜头顺时针旋转,直到卡口上弹簧定位销自然卡入镜头后口。

而锁紧型EF卡口固定EF镜头的方式,不一样,参考下图和说明:

1. EF镜头后口上的红点对准卡口上圆点;如果是EF-S镜头,则对准卡口上方形标记。(同时,顺时针旋转紧固环为松弛状态,锁紧环上的白线/圆点对准卡口座上的白线/圆点;正常情况下,取出卡口盖的时候,锁紧环自然处于这个状态)

Installment_LEF_A

 

2. 镜头后口进入该卡口;注意:卡口的定位销自然和镜头后口的定位销吻合

Installment_LEF_B

 

3. 不旋转镜头而是逆时针旋转锁紧环(按箭头所指方向)直到其紧固。

Installment_LEF_C

 

卸载镜头,相反的过程:手持镜头,顺时针旋转锁紧环直到其停止。在卸载镜头的全过程,必须手持镜头,以免跌落。