Firmware KineOS 6.2

KineOS 6.2_en

For MAVO LF and MAVO, KineOS 6.2 enables the side screen function to display key parameters and adds the 3K/4K outputs oversampled from 6K open gate, to make the 3:2 open gate shooting mode more economical and easier to use. In addition, the function of countdown on power is introduced to protect camera body and footages. The new firmware also supports KineBACK-Lite and provides more accurate prediction on recording bitrate, and fixes bugs related to audio and cDNGs.

KineOS 6.2 is available for MAVO LF, MAVO, TERRA 4K, but not all new functions are applicable on every model.

1. Status Panel

There is a high-res LCD screen at the left side of MAVO LF and MAVO, but only MAVO LF logo or MAVO logo is shown on the screen in KineOS 6.1 and previous firmware. In new KineOS 6.2, the side screen displays the current key parameters, such as ISO, electronic aperture, shutter speed/angle, ND stops (if mounted with e-ND adapter), color temperature and other important parameters.

Note: The side screen is only used to display shooting parameters.

2. Countdown Protection

If the camera loses power during recording, the SSD file system and footages may get damaged. In new KineOS 6.2, the camera detects the battery power constantly. Once the battery voltage is below the BAT warning voltage, the countdown function will start to work from 30. The camera will stop recording automatically if the countdown happens during recording. When the countdown is within 10 seconds, the camera will disable all the functions and then shut down safely.

Note: the warning threshold voltage can be set up a little bit to avoid fast power loss caused by aging battery from improper shutdown of the camera.

3. Oversampling in Open Gate Mode

The aspect ratio of open gate is 3:2 for MAVO LF, MAVO and TERRA 4K, and 3:2 aspect ratio is also popular by more and more users. For MAVO LF and MAVO, the open gate is 6Kx4K, 24 million pixels. Although the high-res recording brings more room for post work, the high bitrate will bring great pressure over SSD and reduce the choice of coding format. In new KineOS 6.2, in-camera oversampled open gate is introduced to MAVO LF and MAVO and all the 24M pixels are oversampled and output 4K 3:2 or 3K 3:2, so ProRes 4444 or even XQ can record full frame 3:2 image to bring more codec options.

4. Other New Functions

KineBACK Lite brings a more convenient power solution to MAVO LF/MAVO/TERRA 4K, which is also supported by KineOS 6.2. In addition, for cDNG RAW, when choosing different compression ratios, KineOS 6.2 reduces the writing pressure on SSD through bitrate prediction according to resolution and frame rate.

5. Fix Bugs and Improve Stability

  • Fix bug of audio recording in certain conditions;
  • Fix bug involving booting and codes switching;
  • Fix bug involving cDNG playback, improve its stability;
  • Change the slate file name in clips folder;
  • Add more information in the slate;
  • Reduce some low resolutions for MAVO LF and MAVO;
  • Increase frame rate to 48fps when 4K Anamorphic for MAVO;
  • Some changes in menu;
  • Some changes in font;
  • Other issues.

Stability of this version: Evaluation.


Download MAVO LF firmware: MAVO LF KineOS6.2 firmware >

Download MAVO 6K firmware: MAVO 6K KineOS6.2 firmware >

Download TERRA 4K firmware: TERRA 4K KineOS6.2 firmware >


Instruction: download firmware to FAT/FAT32 USB stick; insert it to USB port of Kine camera; choose upgrade firmware as [Config–>system–>upgrade]. The update job is done about 15 minutes. It takes effect after reboot.

Note: upgrading the firmware takes about 15 minutes, never lose power during the process, else it needs to be sent back for repair.

Black Balancing:recommended to do Black Balancing if camera is upgraded from 6.0 or previous version to KineOS 6.2, then:

  1. Press and release power button to turn on camera while hold Config button, then release Config button after three seconds. The camera will enter Calibration Mode;
  2. In Calibration Mode, use lens cover or mount cover to make sure image as totally black. Choose [Config–>System–>Black Balancing] to do Black Balancing, it may take five minutes;
  3. Must Reset to Factory Setting after black balancing done, then reboot camera.

Note: Please update the MAVO LF or MAVO Twice when update to KineOS 6.2 for the first time. For example, the first upgrade is from 6.112 to 6.2, and then update from 6.2 to 6.2. The side status LCD works after the upgrading two times.

固件KineOS 6.2

KineOS 6.2_en

KineOS6.2对于MAVO LFMAVO而言,开启了作为参数状态显示的侧屏功能,增加了片门全开的超采输出,让片门全开3:2拍摄更加经济和易用。此外,还增加了:为保护机身和素材安全、检测电源的倒计时功能。增加对薄后背的支持,对码流更准确的预测,以及修复一些声音、cDNG格式下的bug。

KineOS6.2适配MAVO LF、MAVO和TERRA 4K,但是并非所有新功能适用在上述机型。

1. 状态显示侧屏

MAVO LF和MAVO机身左侧具备一个高分辨率的侧显示LCD屏幕,在KineOS 6.1以及之前的固件均只显示MAVO LF LOGO或者MAVO LOGO。在6.2固件中,侧屏可以显示当前设定的参数,比如ISO、电子光圈值、快门、ND(如果接e-ND转接环)、色温等重要的拍摄参数。

提示:该侧屏仅作为拍摄参数的显示,并非用来设置拍摄参数

2. 倒计时关机保护

摄影机如果在录制时掉电、或者未正常关机,有可能会导致SSD文件系统损坏,可能会导致素材受损。在6.2固件中,摄影机会持续检测电池使用状况,一旦电池电压低于报警阈值电压,会自动开始倒计时提示,如果此时在录制素材,摄影机会自动停止录制。倒计时10秒时,摄影机会禁止一切操作,自动关机。

提示:报警阈值电压可以进行设置,避免电池老化造成过快掉电,导致摄影机非正常关机。

3. 超采的片门全开

MAVO LF、MAVO和TERRA 4K片门全开均为3:2宽高比,3:2的拍摄方式也越来越多用户喜爱。对于MAVO LF和MAVO的片门全开是6Kx4K,2400万像素,尽管如此之高的分辨率会后期带来更多的裁剪空间,但是记录码流过高,会给SSD带来很大的压力,也减少了编码格式的选择。固件6.2为MAVO LF和MAVO带来了,机内超采的片门全开,完整使用了所有像素输出4K 3:2或者3K 3:2,从而可以使用ProRes4444甚至XQ来记录全画幅3:2的画面,带来更多的创作自由。

4. 其他新增功能和控制

薄后背KineBACK Lite为MAVO LF/MAVO/TERRA 4K带来更轻便的V口电池解决方案,固件6.2也能够识别KineBACK Lite;此外,对于cDNG RAW,固件6.2根据分辨率、帧率来预测码流,设置到合理的压缩比,减少对SSD的写入压力。

5. 修复bug和提高稳定性

  • 修复某些特定状况下声音记录的bug;
  • 修复涉及到开机和切换编码时的bug;
  • 修复涉及到cDNG回放bug,提高该编码下运行的稳定性;
  • 调整素材文件夹slate文件名;
  • 调整素材文件夹slate内容信息;
  • 对于MAVO LF和MAVO,精简一些低分辨率;
  • 提高MAVO在4K变宽拍摄的帧率到48fps;
  • 移动部分菜单项,更合理进行常规设置;
  • 一些字体的调整;
  • 其他问题。

该固件的稳定度:评估。




下载MAVO LF固件:



下载MAVO LF KineOS6.2固件 >


下载MAVO 6K固件:



下载MAVO 6K KineOS6.2固件 >


下载TERRA 4K固件:



下载TERRA 4K KineOS6.2固件 >

说明:升级固件步骤:把固件下载到一个FAT/FAT32的U盘根目录下(建议使用随机赠送的U盘),插入到摄影机的USB插座,【菜单–>系统–>升级固件】,等待15分钟左右,升级即可完成,重启生效。升级好了之后,在菜单按键下面可以看见固件版本比如KineOS 6.202。

注意:升级固件一般需要15分钟左右,在升级过程中不能掉电,若掉电,则变砖,需要返厂。

暗场校正:若从6.0或者之前的固件升级到KineOS6.2,需做建议做暗场校正。进行如下操作:

    1. 按着菜单按键的同时,按电源开关开机,3秒之后,松开菜单按键。即可进入校正模式。
    2. 校正模式下,用镜头盖/卡口盖确保画面全黑;【菜单–>系统–>暗场校正】,进行暗场校正,约5分钟左右即可完成。
    3. 必须恢复出厂设置,再重启摄影机即可。

注意:对于MAVO LF和MAVO首次升级到6.2,需升级两次。比如,第一次从6.112升级到6.2,升级成功之后,再从6.2升级到6.2。这样侧屏状态信息才会生效。